bakingmommyof3

Helpful tips and recipes for the multi tasking mom

A very Cute Turkey… November 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bakingmommyof3 @ 6:01 am

So I was looking for a craft for the kids to do for Turkey Day – and happened to find this one …. and I thought it was very cute – something they could easily do and we have everything to do it..

Courtesy of – http://www.aglimpseinsideblog.com/2010/10/catch-glimpse-linky-party.html

Cardboard Tube Turkey

Supplies:
– Empty Toilet paper or paper towel tubes
– Acrylic paint
– Card stock
– Glue gun

How-to:
To begin, I marked the edges every half inch just like i did making the pumpkins for the garland.

Cut apart.

I then lined everything up before I painted and glued to figure out how I wanted my turkey to look.

-I took 2 pieces and cut them along ONE of the creases to form one long strip. These will be used to make the larger circle for the body.
-Then take 3 more pieces and cut them directly in half for the smaller feathers.

Next I painted some orange, yellow, and red. I painted the long strips dark brown and then left some plain for a lighter brown tone.

For the body- glue the two long strips together to form a large circle.
Then glue one piece in the bottom center for the belly accent.

Glue your feathers on next. I began with the feather in the top center (yellow) and worked my way out in both directions.

I alternated colors as I glued.

Next, glue the half pieces in between all the whole feather for more detail and to make his tail larger.

I then took brown card stock and drew out a head and neck. Cut it out and added eyes with a black marker and a white gel pen. I then took orange paper for his beak and red for his gobble. Cut and glue onto head.
I then just glued the neck onto the inner circle of the body.

I cut apart some of the strips to make the legs and feet and just glued them onto the body.

 

Leave a Reply

