bakingmommyof3

Helpful tips and recipes for the multi tasking mom

The easiest Dinner Rolls you could ever make…. February 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bakingmommyof3 @ 6:05 am
Tags: , ,

I will not lie when it comes to this recipe.  I never made homemade rolls or bread for the longest time.  And the reason was I was terrified of anything that involved yeast.  I would cook prime rib….I have always cooked for a living.  And I could handle double shifts on a Friday fish fry night and not skip a beat or have anything returned to the kitchen.  Yet mention anything with yeast and I was in a panic.  After working at a bakery I decided it was time to get over the fear.  And I am so glad that I did.  My family loves these rolls.  Whether it be with a Ham dinner or with homemade soup, there are never any leftovers…..  Enjoy!!!!

Dinner Rolls

1 package quick-acting active dry yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons) ( 7 grams)
1 1/3 cup milk (105º to 115ºF degrees)
3 to 3 1/2 cups flour or whole wheat flour
3 tablespoons oil
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon melted butter
coarse salt
Dissolve yeast in warm milk in electric mixer bowl. Stir in 1 cup flour. Beat until smooth. Stir in enough remaining flour, oil, sugar and salt. Mix on low electric speed until soft dough forms. Cover and let rise in warm place until double, about 45 minutes.

Heat oven 400ºF degrees. Prep a 12 cup muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Punch down dough in center and fold over a few times. Pinch off 1 inch balls of dough and quickly roll in palm of hands. Put 3 balls to one muffin cup; brush with melted butter; sprinkle with coarse salt.

Bake 12 to 15 minutes, until crust is light golden brown. Immediately remove from pan. Store loosely covered.

I always use Extra Virgin Olive Oil…..I have never added the course salt…that is due to I use salted butter.  And I have made them in both a regular muffin pan and a silicone and they come out great in either one…..

 

One Response to “The easiest Dinner Rolls you could ever make….”

  1. Megan, I’m so glad you started this blog! I can’t wait to try the dinner rolls. That’s the one thing I miss the most from Grandma Sherman. But I, too, have always been afraid of yeast! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂


Leave a Reply

