bakingmommyof3

Helpful tips and recipes for the multi tasking mom

Hello world! January 25, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bakingmommyof3 @ 5:24 am

Where to start …..  I have been on a baking kick lately and that got me thinking that I really should share some of the recipes I have come across…and steer people from the ones that were complete flops ( which I rarely come across – but there have been a few).  This morning and yes I realize it is 5:01 am – I found a great muffin recipe for the kids to try out today – and it uses bran cereal.  Something that I know if I was to put in a bowl and set in front of them this morning they would all refuse to eat….  And I was a little skeptical but all in all the nutritional value and the I can hide that this is a “healthy” thing won….I did not follow the recipe completely – I rarely do ….. I tend to switch a little here and there….so this is the version that I made – 

Banana Choc Chip Muffins

400 

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 cups Bran Flakes Cereal
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 cup very ripe mashed bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup softened butter or margarine
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts*optional
  • 1/4 cup choc chips 

In a large bowl combine mashed bananas, bran flakes, and milk – let set 2 minutes until cereal is softened.   Add to that the softened margarine and 1 egg – mix well.  Add flour, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg – again mix well.  Add nuts and chop chips.  I used pecan chips due to that is what I had available.  Pour even amount of batter into 12 pre greased muffin tins.  No need to flour – cooking spray worked just fine.  Bake 14 – 20 minutes 

The end result is well worth this recipe – the smell is amazing as its baking and they are a soft, moist muffin.  I have a bad habit of 1 bowl baking.  I hate washing more dishes than needed – this recipe did well as a 1 bowl version.  The original called for 4 different bowl – that is just too much for me.  And I ended up with 15 muffins using a standard muffin/cupcake pan.   The original recipe also called for 20 minutes – mine were done @ 14.     I thought about playing around with an apple version of these.  I make my own applesauce each year and love to use it in breads and muffins.  I will let you all know how that one turns out.  

 

Leave a Reply

